Showing posts with label Wade Barrett. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wade Barrett. Show all posts

Friday, November 4, 2011

The Smackdown Lowdown 11/4/11

Do we really need an intro from a random show in limbo before Survivor Series? The Rock is "back" on Raw, CM Punk is No.1 Contender for Alberto Del Rio's WWE Championship and we're going to see what becomes of Mark Henry and the World Heavyweight Championship here on Smackdown. I hear there's a Street Fight between the Intercontinental Champion Cody Rhodes and Randy Orton. So let's give ya the lowdown on Smackdown!

Randy Orton beat Cody Rhodes (Interconteninal Champion) via pinfall in Street Fight: 8/10 or 4/5 Stars
I like this little feud. Both men have been working well with each other and it has produced a couple good matches and great promos out of Rhodes. By this point this is a 30 minutes awesome-fest. It's not technical, but it's taken 3 commercial breaks to fit this very good street fight into the show. End match, Orton hits Rhodes with the mask and rolls into the snap powerslam. Orton sets up for the RKO, Rhodes pushes off and hits the Beautiful Disaster for a long two. Rhodes goes for the Cross Rhodes, Orton spins out and tries  to hit the second rope DDT. Rhodes slips out to the floor and they brawl at ringside until Orton hits a DDT off the barricade  Orton throws Rhodes back in the ring and blasts him with a RKO for the pinfall in this near 30 minutes match. Afterward, Randy is leaving ringside and notices a paper bag on the floor. He picks it up, goes back into the ring and proceeded to place the paper bag on Cody Rhodes' head.

We get the Raw Rebound as we go to commercial break, showing more Triple H and Kevin Nash stuff. I really didn't pay attention to this on Raw or in the Rebound just now.

We get welcomed back by Matt Striker saying that he'll have an interview with the World Heavyweight Champion Mark Henry later.

Ted DiBiase beat Tyson Kidd via pinfall in a singles match: 2/10 or 1/5 Stars
DiBiase has always had potentinal and I've always said WWE needs to do more with him. Tyson Kidd, I think, is a stud in the making someday. This is a little more than a squash, but one none the less. DiBiase ends the match with Dream Street after a couple minutes.

Matt Striker is in the back with Mark Henry. Henry starts talking about giving the Big Show plenty of chances, for something, he trails off when he sees Daniel Bryan standing at the Kraft Food service in the back. He tell Bryan he better not be thinking about cashing in on him. Bryans says he's still cashing in a Wrestlemania. Henry then says he can wait till the second coming, but he won't beat him. Henry then says he's going to Teddy to make a match between the two.

Alicia Fox beat Natayla via pinfall in a singles match: 2/10 or 1/5 Stars
End match Nattie puts on a Boston crab. Alicia gets out and hits a wobbly insiguri, and the a somersault leg drop for the one, two, three. Nothing really to say....

Big Show comes out to the ring. As he does they show Mark Henry and Big Show breaking the ring at Vengeance and he says they have unfinished business. Shows says that every week Henry doesn't respond that mama said to knock you out. Christian's music hits and he comes out to the ring. Christian said that the "mama said knock you out" line was as big as it was gonna get. Big Show agrees and starts to leave, But Christian ponders why Show thinks he should get one more match. After a huge spiel by Christian, the Big Show starts to scratch his chin. Christian calls him out on trying to knock him the fuck out, but instead of punching him in the face he gives him a chokeslam as we go to commercial.

Christian vs Sheamus in a single match: Never Started
As Sheamus is coming down to the ring Christian is still reeling form the chokeslam and says that he can't compete. Wade Barrett's music hits. As he walks down to the ring he says Christian is in no condition to compete that he has a suitable replacement, him.

Wade Barrett beat Sheamus via pinfall in a singles match: 6/10 or 3/5 Stars
Barrett steps in the ring and the match immediately begins. I like all these guy out here at ringside too.  Barrett throws a bunch of knee lifts as Sheamus is in the ropes and big boots Sheamus out of the ring as we go to commercial break. End match Sheamus hits a flurry of offense. Sheamus is going for the Celtic Cross and Christian hops on the apron, distracting Sheamus.  Barrett then rolls up Sheamus into a schoolboy for the 1-2-3. After the match Christian spears Sheamus before leaving with Barrett to the back. 

As we come back Sheamus is giving a beat down to Christian in the back. Sheamus is then hit form behind by Barrett and they brawl until being broken up by security.

Daniel Bryan is getting ready in the back and Big Show walks up. Bryan says he's got it, but Big Show insists on being in his corner with his match against Mark Henry.

We get another Raw Rebound, this time we go over The Muppets taking over Raw on Monday. I liked it. I love The Muppets comedy and style, and they had some great moments in my humble opinion.

More Brodus Clay promos and he's finally re-debuting on Raw this Monday. Let's hope he eats Hornswoggle on-air.

Sin Cara beat Epico via DQ in a singles match: 2/10 or 1/5 Stars
Epico, new guy, I guess. And he can throw suplexes! Dear Lord, back suplexes, Germans, etc. Epico then slaps on the Gory Special wow! End match, Sin Cara is going to the top rope for the swanton bomb. Huncio pushes him off the top rope for the DQ. Afterward Huncio and Epico give SinCara a beatdown. (This was very badly written, but I don't wanna rewrite, so live with it.)

Mark Henry (World Heavyweight Champion) beat Daniel Bryan (Mr. Money in the Bank) w/Big Show via DQ in a singles match: 3/10 or 1.5/5 Stars
 This was basically a main event squash match. But Bryan did get offense in, sleepers, a guillotine or two, and the that awesome flurry of kicks. End match Bryan was getting pummeled by Henry in the corner. After a running clothesline on Bryan, Big Show comes into the ring and KNOCKS Henry THE FUCK OUT. About as much as I expected from this to be honest.

After the match Big Show urges Daniel Bryan to cash in his Money in the Bank cause Henry was KO'd. Bryan climbs back in the ring and goes to hit Henry with the briefcase before cashing in. Instead he takes The Worlds Strongest Slam. Big Show the jumps in the ring and Henry blats him with the briefcase and hits another Worlds Strongest Slam on Big Show. At this point Teddy Long comes out and announces that at Survivor Series it will be the rematch of Big Show vs Mark Henry for the World Heavyweight Championship.

Smackdown Rating: 7/10 or 3.5/5 Stars
Last Week: 7/10 or 3.5/5 Stars
Yet ANOTHER another solid week for Smackdown. The promos  that were done were good. There was a ton of in-ring action. Sheamus and Barrett put on a good match and the 30 minute Street Fight between Rhodes and Orton to start the show was amazing. Watch that match if you watch any wrestling this week. I think we're moving nicely to Survivor Series as well. When there's not only two week between PPVs, there's time to build good story-lines and not seem like a bunch of morons without any wrestling sense.

That's it for The Smackdown Lowdown. As always suggest to me stuff you'd like me to write on. Also if you wanna add me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, please do so. Really I don't mind.

http://www.facebook.com/fatjesus2606
http://www.twitter.com/_FatJesus_

Friday, October 28, 2011

The Smackdown Lowdown 10/28/11

We're coming off yet another mediocre PPV in Vengeance. Sheamus, again beat Christian in a solid match-up and Randy Orton overtook the Intercontinental Champion Cody Rhodes in another solid match. Finally Mark Henry kept his title after his match with The Big ended with the ring being broken. Are we allowed to remember that? I hope so, it happened a week ago. Hopefully the superstars can somehow perform knowing Maryse has been let go as well. Anywho what will be the fallout for the World Heavyweight Champ and the rest of Smackdown? Well I'm here to tell you, here's the lowdown on Smackdown.

We start off with Teddy Long in the ring and he's addressing what happened at Vengeance. He says that the status of everything involing the title is in limbo and will be addressed tonight. Christian hits the ring and says they're gonna address the issue now. Christian says that Big Show had his shot and blew it and it leaves a hole in the title picture. Christian says he wants the shot, but Teddy comes back with the fact he's losing to Sheamus. Christian is still lobbying to get the title shot when CM Punk's music hits and he heads to the ring. Christian finishes by saying he deserves one more match. Teddy tells us that he's arranged for Raw starts to be on this show tonight for a Super Smackdown. They argue about which GM sucks more, Ace or Long. Punk then says he's a fan of Christian but not what he spews. Christian says that he thinks Punk leaving with the title over the summer was awful. Punk says all of Christian's bitching is wasting all our time and maybe that's why Punk gets title shots. Christian goes on to say that Punk shouldn't disrespect the top person on Smackdown and that he should take is pipe bomb back to Raw. Punk starts to leave but then says the people in Houston want him there and in a match...against Christian. Teddy makes it the main event and we go to commercial.

Did you know? That in fact, Matt Hardy isn't dead yet.

The Awesome Truth (The Miz/R-Truth) beat Air Boom (Kofi Kingston/Evan Bourne) [WWE Tag Team Champions] via pinfall in a tag team match: 4/10 or 2/5 Stars
Before the match we get footage of Miz and Truth taking out Cena on Raw and then Cena saying he'll team with The Rock against them at Survivor Series. End match Kofi hit a double jump crossbody on Miz for a two. Bourne knee strikes Truth out of the ring but misses a plancha over the top. Truth tags himself in and they hit both their finisher at the same time, The Skull Crushing Lil Jimmy, for the pinfall. Solid tag, great end, and great promo from the "thrown" together tag team gone big-time.

The jobber squad, led by Daniel Bryan is in the back, and just saw the HBK v Hart DVD commercial. Bryan say it was a pleasure to train with HBK when he first started in the business. Tyson Kidd comes in and starts an argument on who's better, Bret or Hart. Santino said that this is the locker room and they should "be real mans" and fight it out in the ring.

Cut to Teddy and Little Long Island Iced Z, Hornswoggle. Vickie Guerrero, Jack Sawgger, and Dolph Ziggler (United States Champion) come up laughing about Ryder being taken out on Raw or something like that. Who cares? Teddy decides to put Dolph in a match with Randy Orton and that Swagger is barred from ringside. After they leave Aksana walks up and "seduces" Teddy Long.

We then get a video package of Kevin Nash taking out triple H on Raw with that dastardly sledgehammer before Wade Barrett heads to the ring and we go to commercial.

Wade Barrett beat Trent Baretta via pinfall in a singles match: 2/10 or 1/5 Stars
Before the match Barrett says his Barrett barrage is in full swing. Barrett and Baretta, will the extra vowel mean anything in the end? End match Barrett counters a move and muscles Baretta up into The Wasteland for the one, two, three. Guess that vowel didn't help. I like Barrett and i'm glad they're showing him off and letting him win matches. Push incoming? I hope so.

Randy Orton beat Dolph Ziggler (United States Champion) w/Vickie Guerrero via pinfall in a singles match: 6/10 or 3/5 Stars
Cody Rhodes your Intercontinental Champion, unexpectedly, comes out to do commentary. I like this matching going into the commercial break too. Technical and neither are over powering each other yet, just a good back and forth. End match Orton hits the second rope DDT after a flurry off offence. Orton goes for the RKO but gets a superkick from Ziggler instead for a long time two. Ziggler regroups and goes for the Zig Zag but Orton hangs onto the ropes. Ziggler charges Orton and takes an RKO for his troubles. 1-2-3, match is over. Great match, ok finish. I love Ziggler and Orton can still put on good matches.

Afterward Rhodes is pissed and taunted Orton with a paper bag as he backs up the ramp with his baggers.

We get footage of Sin Cara Negro losing the mask vs mask match to Sin Cara Azul. We then cut to the back where the no unmasked Sin Cara Negro tells Striker that he's pissed that Azul took away his identity and something else in Spanish before walking off.

Daniel Bryan (Mr. Money in the Bank) beat Tyson Kidd via submission in a singles match: 3/10 or 1.5/5 Stars
Daniel Bryan, always amazing. Tyson Kidd, young stud rising. This could be epic. Or this could be a short match filled with great counters that is too short and I'll complain until they get a 10+ minute match. I want a grudge feud between these two. Make it happen WWE. End match  Bryan picks his way out of The Sharpshooter and slaps on the LaBell Lock and Kidd taps.

We get a video package of what we saw earlier replayed where Miz and Truth cost Cena the title and have been harassing him. Ending with Cena choosing The Rock to be his partner at Survivor Series.

Cole has a mic and he starts completely knocking JR. He has a bunch of photoshopped pictures of JR training. He says that the rules for the Michael Cole Challenge (or whatever it's called) will be explained Monday. And that of JR somehow wins Cole will quit.

Big Show comes out to the ring to address the world title situation. We get...pictures, fuck you WWE for still doing this, of Mark Henry and Big Show breaking the ring at Vengeance Sunday.. Big Show starts by saying "Oops I did it again." Big Show puts over the strength and tenacity of Mark Henry, making him hurt in places he didn't know he had. Big Show wants them to reinforce the ring and he wants a match number two for the title. He looked into Henry's eyes and he knows he can beat him. Teddy Long agrees and sometime in the future this rematch will happen. The World Heavyweight Champion, Mark Henry comes out. Both men look beat up, I like that. Henry says that it doesn't matter who he talks to, he's not getting another match. And that obviously he didn't do a good enough job beating him, that he should put his boot in his mouth right now. Big Show is ready to fight, but as Henry is getting into the ring pain hits him and he retreats. We go to commercial with Mark Henry holding the World Heavyweight Championship in the air.

CM Punk beat Christian via pinfall in a singles match: 6/10 or 3/5 Stars
No real build-up. Just two amazing wrestlers getting to talk earlier in the night and now having a main event match. Punk's going for the GTS when WWE Champion Alberto Del Rio's music hits and he walks out with Ricardo Rodriguez. Christian hits an impaler DDT for a long two as we go to commercial. End match Christian hits a powerslam counter of the spring board clothesline for a two. Christian goes for The Killswitch, Punk goes for the GTS, Christian goes for the The Killswitch, but takes the running knee and bulldog in the corner. Ricardo runs through the ring and Punk ends up hitting the springboard clothesline for a two. Punk sets up for the Macho Man elbow drop, but Del Rio knocks him off behind the refs back Sheamus' music hits and distracts Christian as he's about to spear Punk. Ricardo runs off as Punk takes advantage hitting the GTS on Christian for the pinfall.

Smackdown Rating: 7/10 or 3.5/5 Stars
Last Week: 7/10 or 3.5/5 Stars
I think this was another solid week for Smackdown. The promos CM Punk/Christian, Miz/Truth after their win and Mark Henry/Big Show were good. The matches were good as well. CM Punk and Christian was a nice end to the show and Randy Orton vs Dolph Ziggler was a great mid-match show as well. Barrett is looking good, as well as Bryan getting a win. I like those results. All in all, solid show, like last week. You don't have to hate yourself for watching Smackdown. Two good weeks in a row now.

That's it for The Smackdown Lowdown. As always suggest to me stuff you'd like me to write on. Also if you wanna add me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, please do so. Really I don't mind.

http://www.facebook.com/fatjesus2606
http://www.twitter.com/_FatJesus_

Saturday, October 22, 2011

The Smackdown Lowdown 10/21/11 [Tweet Edition]

I haven't blogged in a week, because most of you know what happened. I originally planned on getting back into full swing tonight, but again couldn't. But I did live Tweet it, and yeah time to bring back the ole Tweet Edition! We're a few days away from Vengeance. Orton vs Rhodes in a grudge match, Beth vs Eve for the divas title, Del Rio vs Cena for the WWE Championship and Mark Henry vs Big Show for the World Heavyweight Championship. Let's see how things play out, Tweet style, as I briefly give ya the Tweetdown on Smackdown.

ALBERTOOOOOOOOOOOOO DELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL RIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Holla holla, why you gotta come out?

Teddy Long is outta control.

HALL OF PAIN!

ROFL Henry vs Morrison? Really? REALLY?

Booker with the Tebow reference! 

Henry just did to Morrison what Melina did to Morrison's reputation.

GOLDEN CORRAL HAS A CHOCOLATE FOUNTAIN NOW?!?!?!?! gthsdrhdsfhfdb

Did You Know? This WWE Smackdown sucks so far? Of course you do.

Dolph get's two matches? #Pro

WOO WOO WOO YOU KNOW IT!

Ooooooh! Bryan v Barrett could be good!

Thank God! A good match!

Helluva match between those two! Well done Barrett and Bryan!

WOO WOO WOO, YOU KNOW IT! OHHHHHHHHHHH RADIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

GOOOOOO!

TOO MANY LIMES! TOO MANY LIMES!

CODY RHODES!

This promo is fucking amazing. Rhodes is on fire.

MEGALOMANIAC! Whata $5 word!

I hate Orton and his vague moronic threats to kill his opponents....

BAW GAWD ORTON OFF THE RING POST! HE'S UNAFFECTED! FUCK ORTON!

That bagger took that RKO better than some of the superstars.

Sin Cara vs Sin Cara time. Time for a mask vs mask match. Bound to be filled with bad lighting and botches.

With the greatest of ease....Good God Booker.... 

That around the world hurricanrana was almost botchtastical BTW.

CAMEL CLUTCH!

THIS MATCH ISN'T BOTCH FILLED AND IT'S GOOD 

TORTURE RACK SLAM?!?! :O

2! 2! 2! 2! htsrhgdhfdhd

SPINNING LEG SCISSORS INTO THE THE FUJIWARA ARM BAR TO TAP! WOW!

Booker T gets a bag from the bagger every week and he's saying unmasked Sin Cara is hideous? Really?

Did you know? Brodus Clay has eaten a human being before.

BETHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! NATTIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Oh God.......................

TOTALLY UNPROVOKED! EVE IS A BULLY! SHE'S NOT BEING A STAR! 

ALBERTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL RIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

CROSS ARMBREAKER ON SHOW ehjsehthfdh

Hard to get a good match outta Big Show that's not boring. Good job Del Rio.

Smackdown Rating: 7/10 or 3.5/5 Stars
Last Week: NR
I liked Smackdown a lot this week. The tag match was standard, but nice. Cody Rhodes' promo was AMAZING, and I love that Vince is high on him. Del Rio/Show to end was as good a match you'll get out o Big Show. Daniel Bryan vs Wade Barrett was great, I said this weeks ago that they need to put Bryan and Barrett in a feud. Hopefully they do after that match. Also Sin Cara Negro and Sin Cara Azul put on a helluva match in Mexico City. They looked good, and even though both of them are prone to botching, there was few, if any mistakes in the mask vs mask match. Just a very good Smackdown all around this week, leading into Vengeance this Sunday.

That's it for The Smackdown Lowdown. As always suggest to me stuff you'd like me to write on. Also if you wanna add me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, please do so. Really I don't mind.

http://www.facebook.com/fatjesus2606
http://www.twitter.com/_FatJesus_