Showing posts with label fun.. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fun.. Show all posts

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Songs of the Summer: 2012 Edition

Now I know summer's been done for a bit now. Sorry for this being a little late. But I think I've complied a great list of songs that I listened to the most and influenced me over this summer. From an unlikely pop song, to getting more into an artist I love, discovering a new group I adore and to the song that was playing when I finally met two of my best friends one Sunday night in August.

Story of the Year- "Just Close Your Eyes" from WWE The Music: A New Day, Vol. 10
You may not have heard me talk about this song much. But it's one of WWE's best right now, and for me all time to be honest. I love Christan. Also I love the style, pace and lyrics of this song. I managed to pop this on quite a bit over the summer. 

"Never thought I would be here, so high in the air.
This was my unanswered prayer.
Defined by another, so much wasted time, 
Out of the darkness, each breath that I take will be mine.

If you close your eyes, Your life, a naked truth revealed, 
Dreams you never lived and scars never healed
(Scars never healed)
In the darkness life will take you to the other side, 
And find me waiting there you'll see if you just close your eyes.
If you just close your eyes.
(If you just close your eyes)"


The Lonely Island feat Justin Timberlake- "Motherlover" from Turtleneck & Chain
Haha, I love The Lonely Island.  Justin Timberlake has always been okay to me as well. Put them together for "Dick in a Box", "3 Way (The Golden Rule)" and this and you've got my sides laughing out of my body into orbit.

"[Andy Samberg:] Break it down
[Andy Samberg:] It would be my honor to be your new step-father 
[Justin Timberlake:] It would be my honor to be your new step-father 
[Andy Samberg:] While your in my mother make me another brother.
And while I'm in your mother I'll never use a rubber 
[Justin Timberlake:] OH! 

Cause every Mothers Day needs a Mothers Night 
If doing it is wrong, I don't wanna be right 
I'm callin on you cause I can't do it myself 
To me you're like a brother, so be my mother lover 
They blessed us both with the gift of life 
She brought you in this world so Imma sex her right 
This is the second best idea that we've ever had 
The choice can be no other 
Be my mother lover"


Hollywood Undead- "Everywhere I Go" from Swan Songs
We move from comedy. To comedy rap of sorts. Hollywood Undead was always a group, which well...I liked Swan Songs and I keep going back to it. The rapping is good, crazy, funny and sometimes heartfelt. But when I have to pick one HU song, it'll always be this one

"When I start drinking
My dick does all my thinking
Hoes want to be scene with me
And I like their big thick titties
D-Cups with extra filling
Take it out let me lick it quickly
Calm down it's just a hickie
I'll blame it on this whisky sipping gets me tipsy
Drink fast and enjoy your buzz
Take back streets to avoid the fuzz
I wanna take you home but your friends won't let ya'
I got a 40 in my Ford Fiesta
Buy beer
Or pay the rent
My signing bonus was quickly spent
So I'll beat my meat like I'm a fuckin' butcher
And I'll punk the pussy like I'm Ashton Kutcher!"


KiD CuDi- "Soundtrack 2 My Life" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day
We're at the part of this list with songs I'll always go back to. I've loved this album since I first laid ears on it. And over the past year this song has emerged as THE best off the album for me. Also I'd gander to say this is one of my favorite tracks of all time.

"The moon will illuminate my room and soon I'm consumed by my doom
Once upon a time nobody gave a fuck
It's all said and done and my cock's been sucked
So now I'm in the cut, alcohol in the wound
My hearts an open sore that I hope heals soon
I live in a cocoon opposite of Cancun
Where it is never sunny, the dark side of the moon
So it's more than life, I try to shed some light on a man
Not many people of this planet understand

I've got some issues that nobody can see
And all of these emotions are pouring out of me
I bring them to the light for you
It's only right
This is the soundtrack to my life, the soundtrack to my life

It's close to go and trying some coke
And a happy ending is slitting my throat
Ignorance the coke man
Ignorance is bliss
Ignorance is love, and I need that shit
If I never did shows, then I'd probably be a myth
If I cared about the blogs, then I'd probably be a jackass
Don't give a shit what people talkin' bout fam
Haters shake my hand but I keep the sanitizer on deck
Hope I really get to see 30
Wanna settle down, stop being so flirty
Most of the clean faces be the most dirty
I just need a thoroughbred, cook when I'm hungry
Ass all chunky, brain is insanity
Only things that calm me down, pussy and some Cali trees
And I get both, never truly satisfied
I am happy, that's just the saddest lie"


Childish Gambino- "Heartbeat" from Camp
I've been listening to Camp for close to a year now. But I don't think more than I have this summer. I bought my physical copy release day and never looked back. I love Donald Glover, aka Childish Gambino, in whatever he does. Whether it be comedy, acting or in this case rapping.

"So we're done? This the real shit?
We used to hold hands like field trips
I'm a jerk, but your dude is a real dick
I read his posts on your wall and I feel sick
He ain't cool, he ball and all that
But he just a fake nigga who blog in all caps
You couldn't wait to date
I'm going straight for your thighs like the cake you ate
I give a fuck about the niggas that you say you hate
You know that I’m the best when I’m a-ffection-ate
I'm the best that you had, face it
J and Keyshia are related, racist
I give you money, then you burn it, like you made off
She ain't a killer, but she'd fucking blow your head off
I know he wondering, "What the fuck you hiding?"
That we dated like raps about Bin Laden
Ayo, fuck this
Are we dating? Are we fucking?
Are we best friends? Are we something in between that?
I wish we never fucked, and I mean that"


Downstait- "I'm Here To Show The World"
The best WWE theme right now in my opinion and Ziggler is the third best wrestler and entertainer in the company. I got to see Ziggler live and hear this song when I went to Raw in August. Truly one of the best moments of the summer and a memory I'll always have.

"I hold your life here in my hands
Though you try hard to understand
Your little mind won't turn
Those little wheels will burn
You'll recognise just who I am
Bring it on

Do what I say "Better watch what I do"
Better heed the warning I'm here to give you
If you ever doubted me, you don't have a clue
I'm here to show the world
I'm here to show the world"


Childish Gambino- "Backpackers" from Camp
This is the other Gambino song I've grown to love. Much different than the emotional "Heartbeat", "Backpackers" shows off Gambino's rap and lyrical prowess. Plus it's beat is awesome. This album is amazing.

"Alright it's Childish baby
Mr. Talk-about-his-dick-again
Nerdy ass black kid
Yeah whatever man I'm sick of him
That well spoken token
Who ain't been heard
The only white rapper who's allowed to say the n-word
I buy a bunch of 'em and put it on my black card
Now I got some street cred
Use it 'til it's maxed out
I got a girl on my arm dude, show respect
Something crazy, an Asian, Virginia Tech
She too fine
I do dimes
If not that, I'm walking out with 2 fives
Change my ID for the cops, it's not enough yet
Black male in short shorts, I'm double suspect
Ballin' since '83
Half of 'em say gay
Maybe that's the reason I like Lady What-baby's-say
I'm a problem
I'm lame as fuck homie
But I rap like these niggas ain't got shit on me
Fuck the cool kids
Not Chuck Inglish, but people who think
That hatin on me makes them distinguished
Like, "What is this nigga doin rap is for real blacks
I hate that fucking faggot man he think that we feel that"
Or
"I wrote on rape culture my junior year at Brown
So I'm allowed
To say what all his raps are about"
You better shut your mouth
Before I fuck it
You really hate my lyrics?
Or Kid Cudi's? Nigga"


Carly Rae Jepsen- "Call Me Maybe" from Curiosity and Kiss
Carly is cute and this song is catchy as hell. Just ask...well anyone. For a solid month you could hear this song, or a joke about this song, or one of us singing the song in ANY Skype call I was a part of. At least, once you've grown to hate it's catchy-ness, you can realize it's a decent enough song.

"Your stare was holdin',
Ripped jeans, skin was showin'
Hot night, wind was blowin'
Where you think you're going, baby?

Hey, I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

It's hard to look right,
At you baby,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

Hey, I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

And all the other boys,
Try to chase me,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?"


fun.- "Some Nights" from Some Nights
There's some songs and bands out there that just strike a chord with you. On every level. This is that song (and band) for me. The music, the singing, the lyrics and the message. Just all resound in me and makes me wanna listen to it like five times after I've listened to it once.

"But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I'm still not sure what I stand for, oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don't know... (come on)

No. When I see stars, when I see, when I see stars, that's all they are
When I hear songs, they sound like this one, so come on
Oh, come on. Oh, come on, OH COME ON!

Well, that is it guys, that is all - five minutes in and I'm bored again
Ten years of this, I'm not sure if anybody understands
This one is not for the folks at home; Sorry to leave, mom, I had to go
Who the fuck wants to die alone all dried up in the desert sun?

The other night, you wouldn't believe the dream I just had about you and me
I called you up, but we'd both agree
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh...
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh..."


Jay-Z & Kanye West- "Niggas In Paris" from Watch the Throne
I flew up to Chicago over the summer. For a few days. First time on a plane as well. I got to meet, hang out, and bond with two of the greatest people to enter my life over the past two years. This song was played for me and cookies were slung at me as I got into the car when I first met them as got to a brand new city. The epitome of memories happens when I hear this now.

"She said Ye can we get married at the mall?
I said look you need to crawl ‘fore you ball
Come and meet me in the bathroom stall
And show me why you deserve to have it all
Ball so hard
That shit cray (that shit cray), ain’t it Jay?
Ball so hard
What she order (what she order), fish filet
Ball so hard
Your whip so cold, this old thing
Ball so hard
Act like you’ll never be around muhfuckas like this again
Bougie girl, grab her hand
Fuck that bitch she don’t wanna dance
Excuse my French but I’m in France (I’m just sayin’)
Prince William’s ain’t do it right if you ask me
Cause I was him I would have married Kate & Ashley
What's Gucci my nigga?
What's Louie my killa?
What's drugs my deala?
What's that jacket, Margiela?
Doctors say I’m the illest
Cause I’m suffering from realness
Got my niggas in Paris
And they going gorillas, huh!"

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

FJ Decides To Listen To Pop Music

I thought of this little idea today, after four hours of sleep, getting in my car to go to class. I'm a fan of pop music. Catchy lyrics, melodies, songs, etc. Instead of drowning myself in Childish Gambino's Camp and Jay-Z & Kanye West's Watch the Throne, I'd listen to the local pop stations to and from school. About 20-25 minutes each way. So about five songs each way. Here's the nine songs I heard (one of which I heard twice), ranked form worst to best.

9. Usher- "Scream" from Looking 4 Myself
This song is God-awful and anyone who likes it need to be shot. I love pop and pop stations, but not when they play this shit.

8. Usher feat. Will.i.am- "OMG" from Raymond v. Raymond
I hate Usher.

7. Ke$ha- "Die Young" from Warrior
Lyrics in this include "Young hunks, taking shots, stripping down to dirty socks" and "That magic in your pants is making me blush". Ke-DollarSign-ha ladies and gentlemen, whata word smith. Kill me at this point.

6. Kanye West- "Stronger" from Graduation
As much as I love Kanye, and he is my favorite artist of all time, even I admit this is easily his worst single. But even Kanye's worst is better than most of the trash people are into.

5. Flo Rida- "Whistle" from Wild Ones
This is the song I had to hear twice. Ehhhhh. Not gonna lie, chorus is catchy as hell. Flo Rida is a God awful "rapper" though...

4. Neon Trees- "Everybody Talks" from Picture Show
Love the sound, lyrics and pace of this song. Was really into listening to it and probably gonna download it. Surprised I hadn't heard it in full before, been out for awhile. IT STARTED WITH A WHISPERRRRRRRRRRRRR.

3. One Republic- "Good Life" from Waking Up
A lot of whistling on this list. But this is leagues ahead and better song. Sung well and I loved the melody as a whole. Another older song too. But I love the lyrics and they're some you can really take to heart.

2. Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen- "Good Time" from The Midsummer Station and Kiss
I love that both of these guys wanted this on their album and neither wanted to be the feature. Either brilliant or selfish...or both. Either way Owl City is an established artist for me and Carly Rae with "Call Me Maybe" was God-teir pop from over this summer. Combine the two for this lovely song.

1. fun.- "Some Nights" from Some Nights
I got giddy when this came on after I think it was Kanye. Fun. is easily one of my newer favorite bands and this has hit my song of the day tally many a time. I adore this song and easily tops this list of songs heard on the radio. Sometimes, stations get it right.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Song of the Day #200

This is one of those songs I wish I could truly believe the lyrics to...Happy 200...Woo.

fun.- "It Gets Better" from Some Nights

"It's hard to keep a straight face when I just want to smile
If you could see the look that's in your eyes

Like starlight crashing through the room, we'll lose our feathers
Yes, I know it hurts at first but it gets better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better"

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Song of the Day #195

fun.- "Carry On" from Some Nights

"Whoa
My head is on fire
But my legs are fine
After all they are mine
Lay your clothes down on the floor
Close the door
Hold the phone
Show me how
No one’s ever gonna stop us now

Cause we are
We are shining stars
We are invincible
We are who we are
On our darkest day
When we’re miles away
Sun will come
We will find our way home

If you're lost and alone
Or you're sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Carry on, carry on"

Friday, September 7, 2012

Song of the Day #193

fun.- "Some Nights" from Some Nights

"Some nights, I stay up cashing in my bad luck
Some nights, I call it a draw
Some nights, I wish that my lips could build a castle
Some nights, I wish they'd just fall off

But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I'm still not sure what I stand for oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don't know anymore...
Oh woah, oh woah, oh woah oh oh
Oh woah, oh woah, oh woah oh oh

This is it, boys, this is war - what are we waiting for?
Why don't we break the rules already?
I was never one to believe the hype - save that for the black and white
I try twice as hard and I'm half as liked, but here they come again to jack my style

And that's alright; I found a martyr in my bed tonight
She stops my bones from wondering just who I am, who I am, who I am
Oh, who am I? mmm... mmm...

Well, Some nights, I wish that this all would end
Cause I could use some friends for a change
And some nights, I'm scared you'll forget me again
Some nights, I always win, I always win...

But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I'm still not sure what I stand for, oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don't know... (come on)

So this is it? I sold my soul for this?
Washed my hands of that for this?
I miss my mom and dad for this?

No. When I see stars, when I see, when I see stars, that's all they are
When I hear songs, they sound like this one, so come on
Oh, come on. Oh, come on, OH COME ON!

Well, this is it guys, that is all - five minutes in and I'm bored again
Ten years of this, I'm not sure if anybody understands
This one is not for the folks at home; Sorry to leave, mom, I had to go
Who the fuck wants to die alone all dried up in the desert sun?

My heart is breaking for my sister and the con that she call "love"
When I look into my nephew's eyes...
Man, you wouldn't believe the most amazing things that can come from...
Some terrible lies...ahhh...

Oh woah, oh woah, oh woah, oh oh
Oh woah, oh woah, oh woah, oh oh

The other night, you wouldn't believe the dream I just had about you and me
I called you up, but we'd both agree
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh...
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh..."

Monday, June 25, 2012

Song of the Day #160

fun.- "Why Am I The One" from Some Nights

"I got enough on my mind that when she pulls me by the hair
she hasn't much to hold onto

She keeping count on her hand One, Two, Three days
that I been sleeping on my side

I finished kissing my death, so now I head back up the steps
Thinking about where I've been, I mean the sun was never like this
I wanna feel with the season. I guess it makes sense
cause my lifes become as vapid as a night out in Los Angeles
and I just want to stay in bed, and hold you like I used to
You know that I am home, so darling if you love me
would you let me know...

Or go on, go on, go on, if you were thinking that the worst is yet to come
Why am I the one always packing up my stuff

For once, for once, for once, I get the feeling that I'm right where I belong
Why am I the one always packing up my stuff

She got enough on her mind
that she feel no sorrow
I let my fate fill the air
so now she rollin down her window
Never been one to hold on
but I need a last breath
so I ask if she remembers when
she used to come and visit me
we were fools to think that nothing could go wrong

Go on, go on, go on, if you were thinking that the worst is yet to come
Why am I the one always packing up my stuff

For once, for once, for once, I get the feeling that im right where I belong
Why am I the one always packing all my stuff
I think I kinda like it but I might of had too much

I'll move back down to this western town
when they find me out make no mistake about it

I'll move back down to this western town
when they find me out make no mistake about it

I'll move back down to this western town...
Go on, go on, go on, if you were thinkin that the worst is yet to come
Why am I the one always packin up my stuff

Go on, go on, go on, if you were thinkin that the worst is yet to come
Why am I the one always packin up my stuff

For once, for once, for once, I get the feeling that im right where I belong
Why am I the one always packin up my stuff

I think I kinda like it but I might of had too much
and I'll move back down..."

Friday, June 22, 2012

Song(s) of the Day #159

I completely adore every track on this album. Don't do dual songs of the day much, but today they were sorely needed.

Fun.- "Some Nights" and "Carry On" from Some Nights


Saturday, June 16, 2012

Song of the Day #155

I love this song. In my eyes, perfect.

fun.- "Carry On" from Some Nights

Friday, June 15, 2012

Song of the Day #154

Sometime I post these late and if it's an afternoon post I feel I should remind ya'll that this is yesterday's not today's. Haha.

fun.- "All the Pretty Girls" from Aim and Ignite


"So I call your name, cross my fingers
uncross the others, hesitate.
I don't think straight with nothing to prove.


I don't wanna say I'm leaving
so I'll stay until the weekend.
And you can take all your things;
the boxes and rings
and get going.


'Cause I've been waiting for...


All the pretty girls on a Saturday night.
Let it be, and come to me with the look in your eyes.
Will you break and take all the worlds from my mouth?
I wish all the pretty girls were shaking me down.


So I call you out
Just to feel a little better about myself
And I do, baby I do.
'Til their lips start to move,
and their friends wanna talk music
I say "I've never heard the tune!"
But I have, I just hate the band
'cause they remind me of you.


Every single night ends up the same,
I don't say much at all, but I bring up your name.
(Over and over and over)
I think it's striking me out.


All the pretty girls on a Saturday night
Let it be, and come with me with the look in your eyes.
Will you break and take all the words from my mouth?
I wish all the pretty girls were shaking me down.
But not you,
you still wear boots and your hair is too long
and then this one doesn't want to admit she's fallen in love
Oh c'mon, oh c'mon, what's a boy to do
When all the pretty girls can't measure to you?


I don't understand your reasons
Please just stay over the weekend
You can't take all those things
They define you and me
everything we've become,
You're all that I need
Please don't make me face my generation alone.


All the pretty girls on a Saturday night.
Let it be, and come with me with the look in your eyes.
Will you break and take all the words from my mouth?
I wish all the pretty girls were shaking me down.
But not you,


I feel your faith is destroying the world
and then this one never really understood
the 80s is over and done
Oh c'mon, what's a boy to do,
when all the pretty girls can't measure to you?"

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Song of the Day #147

fun.- "All Alone" from Some Nights

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Song of the Day #129

fun.- "All Alone" from Some Nights

"I fell in love with a wind-up souvenir
I bought it downtown as I was on my way to meet you
She sounds like the songs you used to sing to put me to sleep
Now that you're gone, she's all that I've left to hold

And I feel so all alone
No one's gonna fix me when I'm broke
How do you cry with inanimate eyes?
You're never gonna smile with the way that you're wired

And I feel so all alone

I gave her to you
I thought you might appreciate
The way that she dances
The painted look upon her face
She must have come from the sun
I want to take her through the park
Where she'd tell me I'm all that she wants
If she could even talk

I feel so all alone
No one's gonna fix me when I'm broke
How do you cry with inanimate eyes?
You're never gonna smile with the way that you're wired

And I feel so all alone
I feel so all alone

And she sits on my shelf
It makes me think of you
The way she carries the things that remind me of who
We used to be before we became antiques
She's a lot like you
But when I hold her too tight, I know she'll break
She just takes some glue to stay

I feel so all alone
No one's gonna fix me when I'm broke
How do you cry with inanimate eyes?
You're never gonna smile with the way that you're wired

And I feel so all alone
I feel so all alone
I feel so all alone"

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Song of the Day #103

Another Fun. song. Ha. Really been listening to Some Nights a lot lately. A song I wish I could believe the lyrics to.

Fun.- "It Gets Better" from Some Nights

"What have we done, oh my god
What have we done, oh my god

This is really happening
You never looked so bored
Can you feel my fingernails?
They've never been so short

It's hard to lay a golden egg with everyone around
It's hard to stay inside my head when words keep pouring out

Like starlight crashing through the room, we'll lose our feathers
Yes, I know it hurts at first but it gets better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

I can taste your summer sweat
It's never been so warm
So can we kick the covers off?
They're always on
It's never been so warm

It's hard to keep a straight face when I just want to smile
If you could see the look that's in your eyes

Like starlight crashing through the room, we'll lose our feathers
Yes, I know it hurts at first but it gets better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

There's a fire in sky
Some snow on the ground
Not quite enough cigarettes
To calm me down

What have we done, oh my god
What have we done, oh my god

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

(This is really happening)
It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better

(This is really happening)
It gets better, it gets better
It gets better, we'll get better"

Sunday, April 8, 2012

I Guess Its All Alright

It's all about me. Haha, dat ego. But I mean it as in this blog post is all about me. The past couple of weeks streaming NBA 2K12, Uncharted, Luigi's Mansion, BioShock, etc, have been fantastic. Helping out LookAtMyChicken by hosting a Skype call during his 2 million view marathon. Awesome. Couple that with being able to watch Wrestlemania and a spectacular Monday Night Raw with my two best friends. Just amazing. But my own screwed up mind always keeps the bad in the back of my mind. The fact that while I'm having fun, or what I've deluded myself to think is fun, that I'm not happy. I'm still the giant asshole I've always been. I may sound excited, happy, joyus, etc. But in reality it's not true. Sure there are fleeting moments of genuine happiness, and I wanna thank ALL of you, reading this and not, for helping me have them. So in closing of this paragraph, vent, blog thingy, thanks for be there though the good, the bad, and the fake happiness. It really means a lot that people take the time to watch me stream or reading these emo blog posts of mine. I got nothing left inside of my chest, but it's all alright...

Fun.- "All Alright" from Some Nights

"...I've given everyone I know
a good reason to go.
I was surprised you stuck around
long enough to figure out...

...I've given everyone I know
a good reason to go.
But I came back with the belief
that everyone I love is gonna leave me...

And it's all alright.
I guess it's all alright.
I got nothing left inside of my chest,
but it's all alright.
Yeah, it's all alright.
I guess it's all alright.
I got nothing left inside of my chest,
but it's all alright."

Song of the Day #102

Fun.- "Carry On" from Some Nights

"Well I woke up to the sound of silence
the cars were cutting like knives in a fist fight
and I found you with a bottle of wine
your head in the curtains
and heart like the Fourth of July

You swore and said
"We are not
We are not shining stars"
This I know
I never said we are

Though I've never been through hell like that
I've closed enough windows
to know you can never look back

If you're lost and alone
Or you're sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Carry on, carry on

So I met up with some friends
at the edge of the night
At a bar off 75
And we talked and talked
about how our parents will die
All our neighbours and wives

But I like to think
I can cheat it all
To make up for the times I've been cheated on
And it's nice to know
When I was left for dead
I was found and now I don't roam these streets
I am not the ghost you want of me

If you're lost and alone
Or you're sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Whoa
My head is on fire
But my legs are fine
After all they are mine
Lay your clothes down on the floor
Close the door
Hold the phone
Show me how
No one’s ever gonna stop us now

Cause we are
We are shining stars
We are invincible
We are who we are
On our darkest day
When we’re miles away
Sun will come
We will find our way home

If you're lost and alone
Or you're sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Carry on, carry on"

Friday, March 23, 2012

Song of the Day #95

Fun. feat. Janelle Monae- "We Are Young" from Some Nights

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Song of the Day #83

Fun. feat. Janelle Monae- "We Are Young (Acoustic)" from Some Nights

"Give me a second I,
I need to get my story straight
My friends are in the bathroom getting higher than the Empire State
My lover she’s waiting for me just across the bar
My seat’s been taken by some sunglasses asking bout a scar, and
I know I gave it to you months ago
I know you’re trying to forget
But between the drinks and subtle things
The holes in my apologies, you know
I’m trying hard to take it back
So if by the time the bar closes
And you feel like falling down
I’ll carry you home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Now I know that I’m not
All that you got
I guess that I, I just thought
Maybe we could find new ways to fall apart
But our friends are back
So let’s raise a cup
‘Cause I found someone to carry me home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Just carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Just carry me home tonight (Nananananana)

The moon is on my side
I have no reason to run
So will someone come and carry me home tonight
The angels never arrived
But I can hear the choir
So will someone come and carry me home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

So if by the time the bar closes
And you feel like falling down
I’ll carry you home tonight"

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

A Day In Music #5

"Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Carry me home tonight
Carry me home tonight
Carry me home tonight
Carry me home tonight

The moon is on my side
I have no reason to run
So will someone come and carry me home tonight
The angels never arrived
But I can hear the choir
So will someone come and carry me home"

One Republic- "Good Life" from Waking Up

Kanye West feat. T-Pain- "Good Life" from Graduation

Streelight Manifesto- "point/counterpoint" from Everything Goes Numb



Owl City- "Vanilla Twilight" from Ocean Eyes

fun. feat. Janelle Monae- "We Are Young (Acoustic)" from Some Nights

Lupe Fiasco feat. MDMA- "Beautiful Lasers (2 Ways)" from L.A.S.E.R.S.

"This world is such a fucked up place
My mind's such a fucked up shape
Everything down here sucks
Maybe what's up there is great
We all gotta go one day
I just wanna cut to the chase
I wanna stop these nightmares
I just wanna touch her face
All you see is all my feats (feets)
All you see is all my flaws
All I hear is all my demons
Even through your applause
All you see is all my flights
Well all I see is all my falls
All you see is all my rights
All I see is all my wrongs
Door, keep telling me to fight
Gun on my table telling me to come home
Telling me to to put him inside my hand
Then put it up right next to my dome
Door keep telling me to find a reason
Anything to keep me from squeezing
Simplest things, yea you really like summer
You really like music, you really like reading love
I can't win if it's me against me
One of us ain't gonna survive
And my heart been broke for a while
Your's been the one keepin' me alive
Your's been the one keepin' me alive
Your's been the one keepin' me alive"