Showing posts with label Kid Cudi. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Kid Cudi. Show all posts

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Songs of the Summer: 2012 Edition

Now I know summer's been done for a bit now. Sorry for this being a little late. But I think I've complied a great list of songs that I listened to the most and influenced me over this summer. From an unlikely pop song, to getting more into an artist I love, discovering a new group I adore and to the song that was playing when I finally met two of my best friends one Sunday night in August.

Story of the Year- "Just Close Your Eyes" from WWE The Music: A New Day, Vol. 10
You may not have heard me talk about this song much. But it's one of WWE's best right now, and for me all time to be honest. I love Christan. Also I love the style, pace and lyrics of this song. I managed to pop this on quite a bit over the summer. 

"Never thought I would be here, so high in the air.
This was my unanswered prayer.
Defined by another, so much wasted time, 
Out of the darkness, each breath that I take will be mine.

If you close your eyes, Your life, a naked truth revealed, 
Dreams you never lived and scars never healed
(Scars never healed)
In the darkness life will take you to the other side, 
And find me waiting there you'll see if you just close your eyes.
If you just close your eyes.
(If you just close your eyes)"


The Lonely Island feat Justin Timberlake- "Motherlover" from Turtleneck & Chain
Haha, I love The Lonely Island.  Justin Timberlake has always been okay to me as well. Put them together for "Dick in a Box", "3 Way (The Golden Rule)" and this and you've got my sides laughing out of my body into orbit.

"[Andy Samberg:] Break it down
[Andy Samberg:] It would be my honor to be your new step-father 
[Justin Timberlake:] It would be my honor to be your new step-father 
[Andy Samberg:] While your in my mother make me another brother.
And while I'm in your mother I'll never use a rubber 
[Justin Timberlake:] OH! 

Cause every Mothers Day needs a Mothers Night 
If doing it is wrong, I don't wanna be right 
I'm callin on you cause I can't do it myself 
To me you're like a brother, so be my mother lover 
They blessed us both with the gift of life 
She brought you in this world so Imma sex her right 
This is the second best idea that we've ever had 
The choice can be no other 
Be my mother lover"


Hollywood Undead- "Everywhere I Go" from Swan Songs
We move from comedy. To comedy rap of sorts. Hollywood Undead was always a group, which well...I liked Swan Songs and I keep going back to it. The rapping is good, crazy, funny and sometimes heartfelt. But when I have to pick one HU song, it'll always be this one

"When I start drinking
My dick does all my thinking
Hoes want to be scene with me
And I like their big thick titties
D-Cups with extra filling
Take it out let me lick it quickly
Calm down it's just a hickie
I'll blame it on this whisky sipping gets me tipsy
Drink fast and enjoy your buzz
Take back streets to avoid the fuzz
I wanna take you home but your friends won't let ya'
I got a 40 in my Ford Fiesta
Buy beer
Or pay the rent
My signing bonus was quickly spent
So I'll beat my meat like I'm a fuckin' butcher
And I'll punk the pussy like I'm Ashton Kutcher!"


KiD CuDi- "Soundtrack 2 My Life" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day
We're at the part of this list with songs I'll always go back to. I've loved this album since I first laid ears on it. And over the past year this song has emerged as THE best off the album for me. Also I'd gander to say this is one of my favorite tracks of all time.

"The moon will illuminate my room and soon I'm consumed by my doom
Once upon a time nobody gave a fuck
It's all said and done and my cock's been sucked
So now I'm in the cut, alcohol in the wound
My hearts an open sore that I hope heals soon
I live in a cocoon opposite of Cancun
Where it is never sunny, the dark side of the moon
So it's more than life, I try to shed some light on a man
Not many people of this planet understand

I've got some issues that nobody can see
And all of these emotions are pouring out of me
I bring them to the light for you
It's only right
This is the soundtrack to my life, the soundtrack to my life

It's close to go and trying some coke
And a happy ending is slitting my throat
Ignorance the coke man
Ignorance is bliss
Ignorance is love, and I need that shit
If I never did shows, then I'd probably be a myth
If I cared about the blogs, then I'd probably be a jackass
Don't give a shit what people talkin' bout fam
Haters shake my hand but I keep the sanitizer on deck
Hope I really get to see 30
Wanna settle down, stop being so flirty
Most of the clean faces be the most dirty
I just need a thoroughbred, cook when I'm hungry
Ass all chunky, brain is insanity
Only things that calm me down, pussy and some Cali trees
And I get both, never truly satisfied
I am happy, that's just the saddest lie"


Childish Gambino- "Heartbeat" from Camp
I've been listening to Camp for close to a year now. But I don't think more than I have this summer. I bought my physical copy release day and never looked back. I love Donald Glover, aka Childish Gambino, in whatever he does. Whether it be comedy, acting or in this case rapping.

"So we're done? This the real shit?
We used to hold hands like field trips
I'm a jerk, but your dude is a real dick
I read his posts on your wall and I feel sick
He ain't cool, he ball and all that
But he just a fake nigga who blog in all caps
You couldn't wait to date
I'm going straight for your thighs like the cake you ate
I give a fuck about the niggas that you say you hate
You know that I’m the best when I’m a-ffection-ate
I'm the best that you had, face it
J and Keyshia are related, racist
I give you money, then you burn it, like you made off
She ain't a killer, but she'd fucking blow your head off
I know he wondering, "What the fuck you hiding?"
That we dated like raps about Bin Laden
Ayo, fuck this
Are we dating? Are we fucking?
Are we best friends? Are we something in between that?
I wish we never fucked, and I mean that"


Downstait- "I'm Here To Show The World"
The best WWE theme right now in my opinion and Ziggler is the third best wrestler and entertainer in the company. I got to see Ziggler live and hear this song when I went to Raw in August. Truly one of the best moments of the summer and a memory I'll always have.

"I hold your life here in my hands
Though you try hard to understand
Your little mind won't turn
Those little wheels will burn
You'll recognise just who I am
Bring it on

Do what I say "Better watch what I do"
Better heed the warning I'm here to give you
If you ever doubted me, you don't have a clue
I'm here to show the world
I'm here to show the world"


Childish Gambino- "Backpackers" from Camp
This is the other Gambino song I've grown to love. Much different than the emotional "Heartbeat", "Backpackers" shows off Gambino's rap and lyrical prowess. Plus it's beat is awesome. This album is amazing.

"Alright it's Childish baby
Mr. Talk-about-his-dick-again
Nerdy ass black kid
Yeah whatever man I'm sick of him
That well spoken token
Who ain't been heard
The only white rapper who's allowed to say the n-word
I buy a bunch of 'em and put it on my black card
Now I got some street cred
Use it 'til it's maxed out
I got a girl on my arm dude, show respect
Something crazy, an Asian, Virginia Tech
She too fine
I do dimes
If not that, I'm walking out with 2 fives
Change my ID for the cops, it's not enough yet
Black male in short shorts, I'm double suspect
Ballin' since '83
Half of 'em say gay
Maybe that's the reason I like Lady What-baby's-say
I'm a problem
I'm lame as fuck homie
But I rap like these niggas ain't got shit on me
Fuck the cool kids
Not Chuck Inglish, but people who think
That hatin on me makes them distinguished
Like, "What is this nigga doin rap is for real blacks
I hate that fucking faggot man he think that we feel that"
Or
"I wrote on rape culture my junior year at Brown
So I'm allowed
To say what all his raps are about"
You better shut your mouth
Before I fuck it
You really hate my lyrics?
Or Kid Cudi's? Nigga"


Carly Rae Jepsen- "Call Me Maybe" from Curiosity and Kiss
Carly is cute and this song is catchy as hell. Just ask...well anyone. For a solid month you could hear this song, or a joke about this song, or one of us singing the song in ANY Skype call I was a part of. At least, once you've grown to hate it's catchy-ness, you can realize it's a decent enough song.

"Your stare was holdin',
Ripped jeans, skin was showin'
Hot night, wind was blowin'
Where you think you're going, baby?

Hey, I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

It's hard to look right,
At you baby,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

Hey, I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?

And all the other boys,
Try to chase me,
But here's my number,
So call me, maybe?"


fun.- "Some Nights" from Some Nights
There's some songs and bands out there that just strike a chord with you. On every level. This is that song (and band) for me. The music, the singing, the lyrics and the message. Just all resound in me and makes me wanna listen to it like five times after I've listened to it once.

"But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I'm still not sure what I stand for, oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don't know... (come on)

No. When I see stars, when I see, when I see stars, that's all they are
When I hear songs, they sound like this one, so come on
Oh, come on. Oh, come on, OH COME ON!

Well, that is it guys, that is all - five minutes in and I'm bored again
Ten years of this, I'm not sure if anybody understands
This one is not for the folks at home; Sorry to leave, mom, I had to go
Who the fuck wants to die alone all dried up in the desert sun?

The other night, you wouldn't believe the dream I just had about you and me
I called you up, but we'd both agree
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh...
It's for the best you didn't listen
It's for the best we get our distance... oh..."


Jay-Z & Kanye West- "Niggas In Paris" from Watch the Throne
I flew up to Chicago over the summer. For a few days. First time on a plane as well. I got to meet, hang out, and bond with two of the greatest people to enter my life over the past two years. This song was played for me and cookies were slung at me as I got into the car when I first met them as got to a brand new city. The epitome of memories happens when I hear this now.

"She said Ye can we get married at the mall?
I said look you need to crawl ‘fore you ball
Come and meet me in the bathroom stall
And show me why you deserve to have it all
Ball so hard
That shit cray (that shit cray), ain’t it Jay?
Ball so hard
What she order (what she order), fish filet
Ball so hard
Your whip so cold, this old thing
Ball so hard
Act like you’ll never be around muhfuckas like this again
Bougie girl, grab her hand
Fuck that bitch she don’t wanna dance
Excuse my French but I’m in France (I’m just sayin’)
Prince William’s ain’t do it right if you ask me
Cause I was him I would have married Kate & Ashley
What's Gucci my nigga?
What's Louie my killa?
What's drugs my deala?
What's that jacket, Margiela?
Doctors say I’m the illest
Cause I’m suffering from realness
Got my niggas in Paris
And they going gorillas, huh!"

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Song(s) of the Day #197

Kid Cudi- "Creepers" from Cruel Summer

"I don't love who I am so I'm workin' on a fix
I don't need a bitch trying to tear my mind on my grip
If I had one wish it'd be to have more wishes, duh
Fuck tryna make it rhyme throw them stones, with your bitch ass
Cutting me deep and even though I bleed I stand alone
Alone I'll be, heart of a lion still shining on your sucka ass
Work it, work it, work it, for inner peace
Fightin' for the freedom of my soul, I can hear the speech
Yeah I mumble while I'm trippin on so many pills
Hah, they figured that, they know I'm ill"

Kanye West feat. Big Sean & Jay-Z- "Clique" from Cruel Summer


"Break records at Louie, ate breakfast at Gucci
My girl a superstar all from a home movie
Bow on our arrival - the Un-American idols
What niggas did in Paris, got em' hanging off the Eiffel
Yeah I'm talking business, we talking CIA
I'm talking George Tenet, I seen him the other day
He asked me about my Maybach, think he had the same
Except mine tinted and his might have been rented
You know white people get money don't spend it
Or maybe they get money, buy a business
I rather buy 80 gold chains and go ig'nant
I know Spike Lee gone kill me but let me finish
Blame it on the pigment, we living no limits
Them gold Master P ceilings was just a figment
Of our imagination, MTV cribs
Now I'm looking at a crib right next to where TC lives
That's Tom Cruise, whatever she accuse
He wasn't really drunk he just had a frew brews
Pass the refreshments, a cool, cool beverage
Everything I do need a news crew's presence
Speedboat swerve, homie watch out for the waves
I'm way too black to burn from sun rays
So I just meditate at the home in Pompei
About how I could build a new Rome in one day
Everytime I'm in Vegas they screaming like he's Elvis
But I just wanna design hotels and nail it
Shit is real, got me feeling Israelian
Like Bar Refaeli, Gisele, nah that's Brazilian
Went through, deep depression when my momma passed
Suicide, what kinda talk is that
But I been talking to God for so long
And if you look at my life I guess he's talking back
Fucking with my clique"

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Song of the Day #191

This is my favorite KiD CuDi song. Hit me last night and I listened to it about 10 times.

KiD CuDi- "Soundtrack 2 My Life" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

"Ive got some issues that nobody can see
And all of these emotions are pouring out of me
I bring them to the light for you
It's only right
This is the soundtrack to my life, the soundtrack to my life"

"I'm super paranoid, like a 6th sense
Since my father died, I ain't been right since
And I tried to piece the puzzle of the universe
Split an eighth of shrooms just so I could see the universe
I tried to think about myself as a sacrifice
Just to show the kids they ain't the only ones who up at night
The moon will illuminate my room and soon I'm consumed by my doom
Once upon a time nobody gave a fuck
It's all said and done and my cock's been sucked
So now I'm in the cut, alcohol in the wound
My hearts an open sore that I hope heals soon
I live in a cocoon opposite of Cancun
Where it is never sunny, the dark side of the moon
So it's more than life, I try to shed some light on a man
Not many people of this planet understand"

"It's close to go and trying some coke
And a happy ending is slitting my throat
Ignorance the coke man
Ignorance is bliss
Ignorance is love, and I need that shit
..
I just need a thoroughbred, cook when I'm hungry
Ass all chunky, brain is insanity
Only things that calm me down, pussy and some Cali trees
And I get both, never truly satisfied
I am happy, that's just the saddest lie"

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Song(s) of the Day #186

Can you say Chi-City?

Jay-Z & Kanye West- "Niggas In Paris" from Watch the Throne


KiD CuDi feat. MGMT and Ratatat- "Pursuit of Happiness" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

Hollywood Undead- "Bottle and a Gun" from Swan Songs

Friday, June 1, 2012

Song of the Day #141


I love this song. It always gives me the illusion of hope when I know that everything is still gonna end up bad for me. I want to help other people out but I think (more KNOW) I'm an asshole so it stops me. Also dat guitar solo.

Kid Cudi feat. MGMT & Ratatat- "Pursuit of Happiness" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

"[VERSE 1:]
Crush a bit, little bit, roll it up, take a hit
Feelin’ lit feelin’ light, 2 am summer night.
I don't care, hand on the wheel, drivin drunk, I'm doin’ my thing
Rollin the Midwest side and out livin’ my life getting’ out dreams
People told me slow my roll I'm screaming out "Fuck that"
Imma do just what I want lookin’ ahead no turnin’ back
if I fall if I die know I lived it to the fullest
if I fall if I die know I lived and missed some bullets

[CHORUS]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shine ain't always gonna be gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good.
[x2]

[VERSE 2:]
Tell me what you know about dreamin’ dreamin’
you don't really know about nothin’ nothin’
tell me what you know about them night terrors every night
5 am, cold sweats wakin’ up to the skies
tell me what you know about dreams, dreams
tell me what you know about night terrors, nothin’
you don't really care about the trials of tomorrow
rather lay awake in a bed full of sorrow

[CHORUS:]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shines ain't always gonna be gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good
[x2]

[Guitar Solo]

[CHORUS:]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness.
I know everything that shines ain't always gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good

I'm on the pursuit of happiness
And I know everything that shines ain't always gonna be gold, hey
I'll be fine once I get it, yeah
I'll be good

Pursuit of happiness, yeah
I don’t get it, I’ll be good"

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Night-Time

This late night time used to be mine. The quietness. The friends to hang with. The worry free stuff. I used to love being up late, whether it was alone or with friends. But what happened? Now I resent it. I hate being up past 1 or 2 cause I know it'll just get me to thinking. About bad stuff. My self esteem issues, my lack of friends (the non-existent amount of girlfriends), the fact I'll never be good enough, hell even at times about ending it all. I try to mask these thoughts with shows on Netflix, movies, video games and streams. Sometimes it works I guess other times it just turns into background noise. Is it really that hard to be happy. I used to think I was a pretty happy guy. Life swung my way for the most part. I still love the night though. Especially if I happen to get out on a drive or shoot hoops or something. It's so silent. Peaceful. In Texas throw in that it's cooler as well. The darkness conceals. The scum the badness, the uncouth of the world. The darkness consumes. It consumes the intentions of the good people and turns them into a black hole. I love both aspects of the dark and night. The goodness it brings as well as the evil it releases. Now you're probably wondering why I'm writing this dark/light blog post. And to be quite honest, I don't even know. It just hit me that these hours used to me my time. My time to exercise my emotions in a useful way. My time to "be me" if you will. Now it's the time where I beat myself up and wish that everything was different and I don't think or want the things I can't have. Now for me it's alone. It's the time where I get to practice what I always will be I guess. Is this an "emo post"? Yes. Could this be a sad post? Of course it is. But it's all good. I'm starting to accept that I'll probably end up being alone. In the daytime and at night.

KiD CuDi- "Solo Dolo (Nightmare)" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

"(Yawn)

Listen Good
I don't have nobody
But what I might feel all the sounds of sanity
Hoping what I hear, loops itself continuously
Then I won't be afraid
No No

[Chorus:]
Oh woah woah woah
Why must it feel so wrong when I try and do right, do right
Oh woah woah woah
Soaring through paradise when I'm closing my eyes
I'm, Mr. Solo Dolo
Oh Oh Oh
Oh Oh

Look at me
You tell me
Just what you see
Am I, someone whom, you may love, or enemy
Am I speaken for, you and yours, or someone else
I need some answers
Yeah Yeah

[Chorus:]
Oh woah woah woah
Why must it feel so wrong when I try and do right, do right
Oh woah woah woah
Soaring through paradise when I'm closing my eyes
I'm, Mr. Solo Dolo
Oh Oh Oh
Oh Oh

My world turns
Flippin the bird
To the ones who figure, me
Outkast no not the duo
Back at Shaker Heights
When they knew
Though little brother was a strange one
Boo hoo
Cry me a river
Hater look who
Traveled out an igloo
Cold cold world wasn't fit for me at, oh
Look at where I stand at
Tall, Clutchin my kid cudi bizalls
Mute mutha fuckas back home
Quick pause
Gargle on my mayo
Look at me I bet I'm the one you think the fail
Floatin in my mind
No Sail
Ahoy
Ahoy

Listen Good
I don't need nobody
This is what you feel all the sounds of insanity
Hopin what I hear loops itself to finish me
No I won't be afraid
Hey Hey

[Chorus:]
Oh woh woah woah
Why must it feel so wrong when I try and do right, do right
Oh woah woah woah
Soaring through paradise when I'm closing my eyes
I'm, Mr. Solo Dolo

Why must it feel so right when I know that it's wrong, it's wrong
When will I ever learn from the words from my songs
I'm, Mr. Solo Dolo."

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Song of the Day #97

Still remember the first time I listened to this astounding track. The lovely piano, the smooth voice of Cudi, the amazing chorus and MGMT/Ratatat accompanying? Perfect.

Kid Cudi feat. MGMT & Ratatat- "Pursuit of Happiness" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

"[VERSE 1:]
Crush a bit, little bit, roll it up, take a hit
Feelin’ lit feelin’ light, 2 am summer night.
I don't care, hand on the wheel, drivin drunk, I'm doin’ my thing
Rollin the Midwest side and out livin’ my life getting’ out dreams
People told me slow my roll I'm screaming out "Fuck that"
Imma do just what I want lookin’ ahead no turnin’ back
if I fall if I die know I lived it to the fullest
if I fall if I die know I lived and missed some bullets

[CHORUS]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shine ain't always gonna be gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good.
[x2]

[VERSE 2:]
Tell me what you know about dreamin’ dreamin’
you don't really know about nothin’ nothin’
tell me what you know about them night terrors every night
5 am, cold sweats wakin’ up to the skies
tell me what you know about dreams, dreams
tell me what you know about night terrors, nothin’
you don't really care about the trials of tomorrow
rather lay awake in a bed full of sorrow

[CHORUS:]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shines ain't always gonna be gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good
[x2]

[Guitar Solo]

[CHORUS:]
I'm on the pursuit of happiness.
I know everything that shines ain't always gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good

I'm on the pursuit of happiness
And I know everything that shines ain't always gonna be gold, hey
I'll be fine once I get it, yeah
I'll be good

Pursuit of happiness, yeah
I don’t get it, I’ll be good"

Monday, March 5, 2012

Song of the Day #85

WZRD (KiD CuDi and Dot da Genius)- "Love Hard" from WZRD

(Intro)
Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah
Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah
Yeah

(Verse 1)
What you gon' say to me?? Hmm??
You want to tell me something??
Let it please be true
Now what you want from me??
Never mind don't say a thing to me
I want to see what's in your eyes
See they never lie
Hmm, well I'll be satisfied. Will you complete my life??
The blueprint of peace, the solution to love. I found you now will you be true??

(Hook)
Oh, if you love soft, then you already lost
But oh, if you love hard
You should let down your guard and follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart

(Verse 2)
Now w-what you say to me??
Girl if you get mad at me and we lost our groove
Would you build me up, oh just to break me down
I need me some stability
I need consistency
The way you promise me I promise I'll upgrade your life
It's the blueprint of peace and the solution to love
I can protect you if you protect me too

(Hook)
Oh, if you love soft, then you already lost
But oh, if you love hard
You should let down your guard and follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart

Yeah. Do you love me?? No wait, tell me do you love me?? Yeah
Love hard
Love hard
Oh if you love hard
Oh if you love hard

(Hook)
Oh, if you love soft, then you already lost
But oh, if you love hard
You should let down your guard and follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart
Follow your heart

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Song of the Day #74

Love the beat, love the chorus, love the verses and adore the guitar. This track is just perfectly awesome to me.

Kanye West feat. KiD CuDi and Raekwon- "Gorgeous" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Thursday, January 26, 2012

A Day In Music #2

Childish Gamibno- "Bonfire" from Camp

KiD CuDi- "Solo Dolo" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

Mos Def and Talib Kweli- "Children's Story" from Mos Def & Talib Kweli are Black Star


Say Anything- "Vexed" from In Defense of the Genre


Jimi Hendrix- "All Along The Watchtower" from Electric Ladyland


Taylor Swift- "You're Not Sorry" from Fearless


Drake feat. Chantal Kreviazuk- "Over My Dead Body" from Take Care


Drake feat. Lil Wanye and Andre 3000- "The Real Her" from Take Care


Consequence feat. Kanye West and John Legend- "Whatever U Want"

Simple Plan- "Loser of the Year" from Get Your Heart On!

Kanye West feat. Beyonce, Charles Wilson and Big Sean- "See Me Now" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Eminem- "3AM" from Relapse

Linkin Park- "Hands Held High" from Minutes to Midnight

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

A Day In Music #1

My "Song of the Day" posts are cool and all but everyday (or whenever I do it) re-titling it "Song(s)" irks me for some reason. So on days when I have multiple songs I'll be doing these posts. Mix-Blogs you could call 'em. I'll run down my track-list of songs I listened to that day. Good? Good. So here, enjoy if you listen to one, all, or even just read what I listened to.

Nicki Minaj feat. Eminem- "Romans Revenge" from Pink Friday

Kanye West feat. John Legend- "Blame Game" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Nicki Minaj feat. Kanye West- "Blazin'" from Pink Friday

KiD CuDi feat. Kanye West and Common- "Make Her Say" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

Kendrick Lamar feat. Ab-Soul- "Ab-Soul's Outro" from Section.80

B.o.B. feat Rivers Cuomo- "Magic" from B.o.B. Presents: The Adventures of Bobby Ray

KiD CuDi- "Soundtrack 2 My Life" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

Kanye West feat. Lupe Fiasco- "Touch the Sky" from Late Registration

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Song of the Day #15 [Happy Thanksgiving]

Kid Cudi. "The Prayer." Simple enough. Solid song for today. Being thankful for living a full life that people will remember (not just for artificial things) and being ready to go if God forbid something bad happens. Just a song about being ready for anything to happen at any time. 

Also I'm posting what I posted on my Facebook/Twitter here, just in-case you read this and aren't friends/following me. "Quick shout out to all the people I've befriended this past year. Especially to those, over the past month and a half, who've hung out and been on Skype with me for hours on end keeping my mind off life. So thankful for you guys being in my life. Also to all the family in my life, it'd be even harder with out all you guys being there when you can for me. Even just talking on FB at times. I love you all. One more! >.< To all the friends in my life, the ones I can physically touch haha. Thanks for being there and just hanging out if I need it. One more thing I'm truly thankful for today." Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Kid Cudi- "The Prayer" from A Kid Named Cudi

"My heart thump not from being nervous
Sometimes I'm thinking God made me special here on purpose
So all the while 'til I'm gone make my words important so
If I slip away, if I die today the last thing you remember won't
Be about some apple bottom jeans with the boots with the fur
Baby how I dream of being free since my birth
Cursed but the demons I confronted would disperse
Have you ever heard of some shit so real
Beyond from the heart, from the soul you can feel

And if I die before I wake, I pray the lord my soul to take
But please don't cry, just know that I have made these songs for you
And if I die before I wake I pray the lord my soul to take
'Cuz I'm ready for the funeral

My mind runs I can never catch it even if I got a head start
God please help me I am feeling so alone way
I don't need to worry 'cuz I know the world'll feel this nigga
Blessing in disguise but I am not hiding who I am open your eyes bro
If I ever met you, I appreciate the love yo
Girls that I dated, it's ok I am not mad yo
Unless you stabbed me in the heart, no love ho, this shit is so ill
Play it back from the top if you recognize real

And if I die before I wake, I pray the lord my soul to take
But please don't cry, just know that I have made these songs for you
And if I die before I wake, I pray the lord my soul to take
'Cuz I'm ready for the funeral

And if I die before I wake, I pray the lord my soul to take
So please don't cry, just know that I have made these songs for you
And if I die before I wake, I pray the lord my soul take
'Cuz I'm ready for the funeral (I'm ready for the funeral, I'm ready for the funeral)"

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Song of the Day #8


"I'm on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shine ain't always gonna be gold
I'll be fine once I get it, I'll be good."

I'm getting into these song of the day posts, but I'm still not sure it'll be an everyday thing. But for now since I'm not in the mood for really listening to too many new albums/music over a weeks period of time I like these. After yet another awful day where I found out my grandma isn't doing well and inadvertently (maybe at this point it's some flaw in me though) being a major dick to people only trying to help I turned to what may be Kid Cudi's best track. "Pursuit of Happiness" is a hopeful song. No matter what happens in life you need to chase happiness and even if you stumble keep trying to get there. Aside from the meanings and stuff, this is just a good song. The chill beat, Cudi's nice rapping, a feature from Ratatat, and MGMT  providing chords. Just amazing.


"Tell me what you know about dreamin’ dreamin’
you don't really know about nothin’ nothin’
tell me what you know about them night terrors every night
5 am, cold sweats wakin’ up to the skies
tell me what you know about dreams, dreams
tell me what you know about night terrors, nothin’
you don't really care about the trials of tomorrow
rather lay awake in a bed full of sorrow"

Friday, November 11, 2011

Song(s) of the Day #6


Aside from the verses in yet another Kid Cudi song I've been running these two song all day. No real emotional connection or anything. These are just damn good songs. It's no lie that I'm a Kid Cudi fan, and if you don't know I'm also a big Nicki Minaj fan. With the exception of Jean Grae, I believe she's the best female rapper going right now (and that has happened in the last half a decade to be honest). Also (big surprise) Kanye West is featured on both of these songs. He always complements Cudi well when they hook-up on a song (and they do it often) and Nicki let's him go FUCKING OFF when she featured him on Pink Friday

Nicki Minaj feat Kanye West- "Blazin'" from Pink Friday

Kid Cudi fest. Kanye West- "Erase Me" from Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Ranger

"It's like I'm her new nightmare
She ain't escaping
It makes me feel a bit complete
yeah
Knowing someone you love
Don't feel the same way about ya
Memories, they soon delete
hmmmmmmm"

Monday, October 31, 2011

Song of the Day #4

Well this is Halloween, but this song has been on my mind since last night. It may not be strictly Halloween, but as with most songs, lyrics just resound with me. Not to mention the beat and accompanying music is chill, slow, and eerie. See tied in the creepy-esque beat with Halloween. This is another Kid Cudi song off Man on the Moon: The End of Day, called "Solo Dolo (Nightmare)" I love lines in this song so much, especially the chorus. "Why must it feel so wrong, when I try and do right, do right .. soaring through paradise when I'm closing my eyes, I'm Mr Solo Dolo." I try to be nice and talk and encourage people, and all that jazz, sometimes (actually most of the time), it falls of deaf ears. I hate it cause I'm just trying to help and it feels like doing the kind things is actually wrong. The only time I'm fully at peace with my running, thinking mind is when my eyes are closed, when I'm asleep. It's partly why I do it so much. To just sleep for two hours in the late afternoon, just to get my mind off everything for a bit. But even a bit further, with all my family, friends, Justin/TwitchTV family and friends around I still feel completely alone. Just another Cudi song that I think personifies me. My costume today? Don't really need to wear one. Just getting dressed, my normal clothes. If anyone asks, today I'm Mr. Solo Dolo.

"(Yawn)
Listen good
I don't have nobody
But what I might feel all the sounds of sanity
Hoping what I hear, loops itself continuously
Then I won't be afraid
No No"

Kid Cudi- "Solo Dolo (Nightmare)" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Song of the Day #3

Kid Cudi- "Soundtrack 2 My Life" from Man on the Moon: The End of Day

To me this is the perfect song. It combines a sick, upbeat, beat with the problems only really a few of us know how to "deal" with or have been through. This song is just Kid pouring out his soul and sadness into the verses, in what I consider my favorite song by him. Even when this first came out it always resounded with me. Now every time I listen to it the line "Since my father died, I ain't been right since"...I just identify with it. The feeling I've been feeling over the summer and such also reside in me from these lines as well. "I was close to tryin some coke, and a happy ending would be slittin' my throat" and "I'm happy, that's just the saddest lie." Also the chorus is just so perfect. So many lyrics and moment that Cudi has been through and decided to share in this song. It's just one of those songs in your life that's THE song. For me the sadness, the lyrics, the beat, and just Kid Cudi's even timing on throughout the whole song is amazing. This song personifies me, thanks out to Kid Cudi for recording this.

I've got some issues that nobody can see
And all of these emotions are pouring outta me
I bring them to the light for you
It's only right
This is the soundtrack to my life
The soundtrack to my life ohhhh

Saturday, October 22, 2011

This Week In Song #5

This week has definitely been a Kanye West week for me. The College Dropout, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and Watch the Throne (with Jay-Z) is what I've been playing. Here's the best of the bunch that I've been bumping. Enjoy if you listen to these awesome tracks.

Kanye West ft. GLC and Consequence- "Spaceship" from The College Dropout

Kanye West ft. Jay-Z and J. Ivy- "Never Let Me Down" from The College Dropout

Kanye West ft. Talib Kweli and Common- "Get 'Em High" from The College Dropout

Kanye West ft. Mos Def, Freeway, and The Harlem Boys Choir- "Two Words" from The College Dropout

Kanye West ft. Kid Cudi and Raekwon- "Gorgeous" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Kanye West ft. Rihanna, Kid Cudi, Elton John, John Legend, The Dream, Ryan Leslie, Tony Williams, Charlie Wilson, Elly Jackson, Fergie and Alicia Keys- "All of the Lights" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Kanye West ft. Jay-Z, Nicki Minaj, Rick Ross and Bon Iver- "Monster" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Kanye West ft. Pusha T- "Runaway" from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Kanye West & Jay-Z ft. Frank Ocean- "No Church in the Wild" from Watch the Throne

Kanye West & Jay-Z- "Niggas in Paris" from Watch the Throne

Kanye West & Jay-Z ft. Otis Redding- "Otis" from Watch the Throne

Kanye West & Jay-Z- "Gotta Have It" from Watch the Throne